It is currently Wed Jul 03, 2019 9:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic?Reply to topic ?[ 10 posts ]?
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:51 pm?
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
To troubleshoot Classic Shell installation or uninstallation process, there is a separate tool called Classic Shell Utility. It can create troubleshooting logs, remove your Classic Shell settings or completely erase all traces of Classic Shell from your system. It also has a feature to show the Metro color palette for creating skins.

For those who are having problems uninstalling or upgrading Classic Shell, the feature to remove Classic Shell from your computer in case the normal uninstall process doesn't work can be useful.

The utility will manually delete the installed files and will repair the registry. There are options to keep or delete all your settings.

You can download the utility from here: http://www.tbtmap.com.cn/downloads/



Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2015 6:02 am?
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:11 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Oklahoma City OK USA
Thanks!

_________________
Windows 10 Build 1809 (OS Build 17763.253)
Resident: Windows Defender, MalwareBytes Pro 3.6.1, Windows UAC High Level
On Demand: HitmanPro, EMT, MRT
Backup: Macrium Reflect Pro, EaseUS Todo Home, Bvckup2
Browser: Slimjet
Customization: Open Shell Start Menu, Rainmeter, X Widget


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 9:39 pm?
Offline

Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 9:36 pm
Posts: 1
4.3.0 doesn't work with Win 10 build 1703. The utility is no help. It's time for a new version.


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2017 10:42 pm?
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
What exactly doesn't work for you?


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:28 pm?
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 2:23 pm
Posts: 1
Ivo wrote:
What exactly doesn't work for you?


I don't know about StrongThanDirt but I have the problem that the "most used apps" menu is and stays empty (that's the one you see when open the start menu with the "all apps" entry at the bottom) after you upgrade to Windows 1703. A simple uninstall and reinstall doesn't solve the issue. I didn't tried the Utility yet. If you install Classic Shell after a) upgrading to 1703 or b) doing a fresh installation of 1703 including it's first cumulative update it works as intended. That cumulative update somehow breaks something.

Nevermind. Just found viewtopic.php?f=7&t=7477. Will try it on Monday.


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:34 am?
Offline

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:26 am
Posts: 1
I'm using v4.3.0

I'm also using insider Windows 10 build 16251.

When at build 16199 Classic Shell worked just fine. When build 16251 came out, Classic Shell stopped working.


When I rebooted the system after the update, the desktop loads, there is a short pause of about 2-3 seconds and
the desktop reloads again, and again. Stuck in a loop. The old "three finger salute" will get me to Task Manager
so I can get out of the loop, then remove Classic Shell and all is fine with this build. I tried re-installing Classic Shell
several times, and it loads, but goes into the loop.


Any Ideas anyone ?


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:41 am?
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
In almost all cases like this it was caused by the IDT audio control panel. It is not compatible with Windows 10. See if you have a file named "idtnc64.cpl" in C:\Windows\System32, and if so, delete it.


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2017 9:19 am?
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:51 am
Posts: 1
Ivo wrote:
In almost all cases like this it was caused by the IDT audio control panel. It is not compatible with Windows 10. See if you have a file named "idtnc64.cpl" in C:\Windows\System32, and if so, delete it.


Thanks Ivo, I had that file and deleting it helped. Bloody Windows 10. :evil:


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 12:52 pm?
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 3:08 pm
Posts: 13
Location: NYS
I just want to upgrade from 4.2.5 to 4.3.1. Can I just uninstall 4.2.5 thru Windows, or is it better to use the Utility?

_________________
Win 7 Pro sp1 64bit


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:00 pm?
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:38 pm
Posts: 5333
The easiest is to simply install the new version. No need to uninstall anything.


Top
?Profile ?
Reply with quote ?
Display posts from previous: ?Sort by ?
Post new topic?Reply to topic ?[ 10 posts ]?

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ betway必威? Forum Software ? phpBB Group, Almsamim WYSIWYG

Classic Shell ? 2010-2016, Ivo Beltchev.
All right reserved.